• PDF

The Atomic Energy Council was established by the Atomic Energy Act,2008 with the mandate to regulate the peaceful applications of ionizing radiation;to provide for protection and safety of individuals,society and the environment from the dangers resulting from ionizing radiation;to provide for the production and use of radiation sources and the management of radiative waste;to provide for compliance with the international safety requirements for the use of ionizing radiation,radiation protection and security of radiative sources.

The atomic Energy council is a corporate body,with perpetual succession and common seal.It is independent in the performance of its function and duties and in the exercise of its powers and not subject to the direction or control of any person or authority.

The Atomic Energy Council is made up of a policy organ,the council (board) has five members appointed by the minister and approved by the cabinet.The council reports to the minister,the council/Board has five committees namely;Human Resource Committee;Finance & Administration committee;Technical Committee;Legal and Audit Committee and corporate Affairs committee.

The Secretariat implements the policies,decisions and programmes of the council.It is headed by the secretary .The secretariat is composed of technical staff (Radiation Protection Officers (RPO's) and administrative staff.

The Atomic Energy Act,2008 applies to:

A Every person whose practice involves or includes the production,processing,handling,use,holding,storage,transport or disposal of natural and artificial radiative material and advices emitting ionizing radiation;

B Any other practice which involves a risk of harm arising from ionizing radiation or a radiative source;

C A Facility which serves purposes of,or performs functions in the course of which ionizing radiation is created or is capable of being created;

D All situations involving exposure or the potential for exposure to ionizing radiation,except those which are excluded from the standards.